top of page

Progress Update: November 28, 2016


Hello Esteemed Readers,

Thank you for joining me once again as I share and elaborate upon my experiences with this assignment. Thus far, I have done a significant amount of work, as I attempt to achieve my goal. My presentation is near completion currently, as I edge closer and closer to my due date. I am ecstatic to see the results of this assignment, and see my learning progress from the beginning of this task, until now. Let me reflect on how I had gotten to this point in history.

I had last spoken to you all after my Pitch presentation. Since then, I have made monumental changes, and have had major epiphanies. I have learned an abundance of information, and I am so excited to share it with you.

Immediately after my Pitch, I was given this much larger assignment. I am sure that some of you are familiar with TED Talks (If not, I suggest researching them. They are truly spectacular and inspiring). My role was to create a presentation very similar to these, supporting an issue of sustainability in this planet. Like the pitch, I had continued to research and develop ideas upon Genetically Modified Organisms, for I still feel genuinely like there is so much more to explore under that huge umbrella. Additionally, I must further educate my classmates of the dangers of buying these crops, to really persuade them to make a change in their lives. The requirements for this project are as follows. We must create a roughly five minute presentation displaying our issue, why we chose it, and must deeply express our analysis. Right now, I am well on my way to completing this task, but how had my process been? The truth is that it had been quite difficult. There was so much more information to critically understand that I ever could have imagined. There are so many facts on this topic that I needed to comprehend. I was lost, until I realized that my next couse of action, was to create an action plan to accurately guide my learning, and help me create a successful product in the end of the day. After much time considering, I had finished making this action plan, and it is one of the most beneficial things that I have ever done. The path that it took me through was marvellous, and I am so fortunate for my teacher who strongly encouraged me to make one. All was good at this point! I had made most of my presentation, when one day, I took a step back, thought upon my work, and seriously questioned it. After hours of hard work into it, I had realized that it hadn’t been what I always hoped for, and needed to change it tremendously.

I was stuck. I was unaware how to proceed, when I thought of a useful strategy that the fantastic IB program had taught me to use. It is called synthesizing a research question. I thought that perhaps making a research question would give my presentation more meaning, and I was correct. It turned out better than I ever could have imagined, and I am so thankful for it. I am now on the most terrific route to completing my goals, and I am so proud of what has been accomplished.

My journey has been a unique one, yet I couldn’t have done it without the amazing support of my peers, and my fantastic teacher. They all really encouraged me to get to this point, and I couldn’t be more grateful. I hope to see you all next time, as I further update you on my progress!

bottom of page